Rock and Roll hall of fame member Jim McCarty joins me to talk about his Latest album Walking In The Wild Land and his illustrious career.


jim mccartyJim McCarty is the renown drummer from The Yardbirds who is respected worldwide for his innovative drumming style which he introduced into music in the ’60s in such hits as “For Your Love. Heart Full of Soul. Evil Heated You, Shapes of Things, Over Under Sideways Down” all of which were UK Top 10 hits.

When The Yardbirds broke up in the late ’60s, Jim formed a number of successful bands over the next 25 years including Renaissance, Shoot, Box Of Frogs, Stairway and Illusion before reforming in the ’90s The Yardbirds Whom he still tours today.

Music historians credit The Yardbirds as heavily contributing to if not inventing the birth of psychedelic music sowing the seeds of punk rock, progressive rock, and heavy metal.

“Walking In The Wild Land” is Jim’s third solo album and features his songs and vocals in wonderful psychedelic/folk rock style.

Although Jim is an icon in the rock genre, he is down to earth, reflective of life and looking forward to what is next on the horizon.

He granted permission to play two songs  Heart Full of Soul from the early days and Walking in the Wild Land from his latest release.

We Talk aboutjim mccarty

  • The Yardbirds
  • The Birdland Album
  • Eric Clapton
  • Led Zeppelin
  • Jeff Beck
  • Jimmy Page
  • Brittish Progressive Rock
  • How he grew through his music
  • Illusions
  • Stairway
  • Jim McCarty’s move from the drums to play the acoustic guitar and vocals.
  • Channeled music
  • The power of nature
  • Inspiration

Illusion was a Brittish progressive rock band formed in 1977, The released two albums, Out of the Mist (1977) and Illusion (1978) before folding in 1979.

Box of Frogs was a blues-based hard rock band formed in 1983 by former members of The Yardbirds, who released their first album in 1984. The Core group consisted of Chris Dreja, Paul Samwell-Smith, and Jim McCarty.